

2020 GUBERNATORIAL ELECTIONS

QUICK FACTS

13 TOTAL ELECTIONS (4 D seats, 7 R seats, 1 I seat, 1 PNP) – 10 Incumbent Races, 3 Open Races

11 STATE ELECTIONS (4 D seats, 7 R seats) – 9 Incumbent Races, 2 Open Races 2 TERRITORIAL ELECTIONS (0 D seats, 0 R seat, 1 I seat, 1 PNP seat) – 1 Incumbent Race, 1 Open Race

10 INCUMBENT RACES

(Incumbents Eligible to Seek Reelection)

State or jurisdiction	Governor	Present term began	Present term ends	Number of previous terms	Maximum consecutive terms
Delaware	John Carney (D)	1-17	1-21	_	2(a)
Indiana	Eric Holcomb (R)	1-17	1-21	_	2(b)
Missouri	Mike Parson (R)	6-18(c)	1-21	_	Ž´
New Hampshire	Chris Sununu (R)	1-17	1-19(d)	1	_
North Carolina	Roy Cooper (D)	1-17	1-21	_	2
North Dakota	Doug Burgum (R)	12-16	12-20	_	_
Puerto Rico	Wanda Vazquez (PNP)	8-19(e)	1-21	_	_
Vermont	Phil Scott (R)	1-19 [′]	1-21(d)	1	_
Washington	Jay Inslee (D)	1-17	1-21	1	_
West Virginia	Jim Justice (Ŕ)	1-17	1-21	_	2

NOTES

- a) Absolute two-term limitation.
- After two consecutive terms as governor, the candidate must wait four years before becoming eligible to run again.
- c) Missouri Lt. Gov. Mike Parson became governor on June 1, 2018, following the resignation of Governor Eric Greitens.
- d) Two-year term.
- e) Puerto Rico Secretary of Justice Wanda Vazquez became governor on August 7, 2019, following the resignation of Governor Ricardo Rossello.

3 D SEATS (3 states) – 6 R SEATS (14 states) – 1 PNP SEAT (1 territory)

3 OPEN RACES

(Incumbent Not Eligible to Run or Not Seeking Reelection)

State or jurisdiction	Governor	Present term began	Present term ends	Number of previous terms	Maximum consecutive terms
American Samoa	Lolo Matalasi Moliga (I)	1-17	1-21	1	2
Montana	Steve Bullock (D)	1-17	1-21	1	2(a)
Utah	Gary Herbert (R)	1-17	1-21	2(b)	<u> </u>

NOTES

- a) Limit of eight years of service out of every 16 years.
- b) Utah Lt. Gov. Gary Herbert became governor on August 11, 2009, following Gov. Jon Huntsman Jr.'s appointment as U.S. Ambassador to China. Gov. Herbert won a special gubernatorial election (required by Utah law) in November 2010 to complete Gov. Huntsman's unexpired term. Gov. Herbert was elected to full four-year terms in November 2012 and 2016.

1 D SEAT (1 state) – 1 R SEAT (1 state) – 1 I SEAT

For more information on governors and gubernatorial elections, visit https://www.nga.org/governors/elections/.