The Special Committee on Homeland Security and Public Safety has jurisdiction over issues regarding homeland security, the National Guard and homeland defense, criminal justice and public safety, and veterans affairs.

Governor Janice K. Brewer, Arizona—Co-Chair
Governor Martin O'Malley, Maryland—Co-Chair

Governor Neil Abercrombie, Hawaii
Governor Paul LePage, Maine
Governor Brian Sandoval, Nevada
Governor Bev Perdue, North Carolina
Governor Tom Corbett, Pennsylvania
Governor Luis G. Fortuño, Puerto Rico
Governor Robert F. McDonnell, Virginia
Governor Matt Mead, Wyoming