This site utilizes JavaScript to enhance the user interface and productivity for users. Ensure you have Java Script enabled in your browser to take full advantage. Economic Development & Commerce Committee

Economic Development & Commerce Committee

The Economic Development and Commerce Committee (EDC) has jurisdiction over a broad range of issues in the areas of transportation infrastructure, telecommunications, international trade promotion, financial services regulation, science and technology development, and affordable housing.

2017–18 Committee Leadership

Governor Asa Hutchinson, Arkansas Chair
Governor John Hickenlooper, Colorado Vice Chair

Gov. John Carney, Delaware
Gov. Kim Reynolds, Iowa
Gov. Bruce Rauner, Illinois
Gov. Larry Hogan, Maryland
Gov. Chris Sununu, New Hampshire
Gov. Roy Cooper, North Carolina
Gov. Ricardo Rosselló, Puerto Rico
Gov. Gina Raimondo, Rhode Island
Gov. Scott Walker, Wisconsin
Gov. Phil Scott, Vermont

Staff Director & General Counsel

Legislative Director, Economic Development & Commerce Committee

October 26, 2017

Governors Applaud President's Action on Drones

The National Governors Assoiation issued a statement in support of a presidential memorandum that allows for state and local collaboration in regulation of drones.

July 18, 2017

NGA Comments on Federal Tax Reform

Comments to Senate Finance Committee Chair Orrin Hatch (R-UT) and Ranking Member Ron Wyden (D-OR) encouraging intergovernmental cooperation on tax reform and submitting the governors’ policy positions regarding tax and public finance matters.

March 30, 2016

NGA Urges FCC To Reject Proposal That Weakens States’ Authority

NGA released a statement urging the FCC to reject a proposal that would preempt states’ authority to designate eligible telecommunications carriers under the Lifeline program.