

2018 GUBERNATORIAL ELECTIONS

QUICK FACTS

39 TOTAL ELECTIONS (9 D seats, 28 R seats, 2 I seats) – 21 Incumbent Races, 18 Open Races 36 STATE ELECTIONS (9 D seats, 26 R seats, 1 I seat) – 19 Incumbent Races, 17 Open Races 3 TERRITORIAL ELECTIONS (2 R seat, 1 I seat) – 2 Incumbent Races, 1 Open Race

21 INCUMBENT RACES

(Incumbents Eligible to Seek Reelection)

State or jurisdiction	Governor	Present term began	Present term ends	Number of previous terms	Maximum consecutive terms
Alabama	Kay Ivey (R)	4-17 (a)	1-19	_	2
Alaska	Bill Walker (I)	12-14	12-18	_	2
Arizona	Doug Ducey (R)	1-15	1-19	_	2
Arkansas	Asa Hutchinson (R)	1-15	1-19	_	2 2
Hawaii	David Ige (D)	12-14	12-18	_	2
Illinois	Bruce Rauner (R)	1-15	1-19	_	_
Iowa	Kim Reynolds (R)	5-17 (h)	1-19	_	_
Maryland	Larry Hogan (R)	1-15	1-19	_	2
Massachusetts	Charlie Baker (R)	1-15	1-19	_	_
Nebraska	Pete Ricketts (R)	1-15	1-19	_	2(b)
New Hampshire	Chris Sununu (R)	1-17	1-19 (c)	_	_
New York	Andrew Cuomo (D)	1-15	1-19 [^]	1	_
Northern Mariana	Ralph Deleon Guerrero				
Islands	Torres (R)	12-15 (d)	1-19		2 (e)
Oregon	Kate Brown (D)	1-17	1-19	1 (f)	2
Pennsylvania	Tom Wolf (D)	1-15	1-19	_	2
Rhode Island	Gina Raimondo (D)	1-15	1-19	_	2 2
South Carolina	Henry McMaster (R)	1-17 (g)	1-19		2
Texas	Greg Abbott (R)	1-15	1-19	_	_
Vermont	Phil Scott (R)	1-17	1-19 (c)	_	_
Virgin Islands	Kenneth Mapp (I)	1-15	1-19 [′]	_	2 (b)
Wisconsin	Scott Walker (R)	1-15	1-19	1	`

NOTES

- a) Alabama Lt. Gov. Kay Ivey became governor on April 10, 2017, following the resignation of Governor Robert Bentley. She is eligible to seek a full term in 2018.
- b) After two consecutive terms as governor, the candidate must wait four years before becoming eligible to run again.
- c) Two-year term.
- d) Northern Mariana Islands Lt. Gov. Ralph Deleon Guerrero Torres became governor on December 29, 2015, completing he unexpired term of Gov. Eloy Inos following his death. He is eligible to seek a full term in 2018.
- e) Absolute two-term limitation.
- f) Oregon Secretary of State Kate Brown became governor on February 18, 2015, following Governor John Kitzhaber's resignation. Governor Brown won a special gubernatorial election held in November 2016 to complete Gov. Kitzhaber's unexpired term. She is eligible to seek a full term in 2018.
- g) South Carolina Lt. Gov. Henry McMaster became governor on January 24, 2017, following Gov. Nikki Haley's appointment as U.S. ambassador to the United Nations. He is eligible to seek a full term in 2018.
- h) lowa Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds became governor on May 24, 2017, following Gov. Terry Branstad's appointment as U.S. ambassador to China. She is eligible to seek a full term in 2018.

18 OPEN RACES

(Incumbents Not Eligible to Run or Not Seeking Reelection)

State or jurisdiction	Governor	Present term began	Present term ends	Number of previous terms	Maximum consecutive terms
California	Jerry Brown (D)	1-15	1-19	3 (a)	2
Colorado	John Hickenlooper (D)	1-15	1-19	1	2 (b)
Connecticut	Dan Malloy (D)	1-15	1-19	1	
Florida	Rick Scott (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2
Georgia	Nathan Deal (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2
Guam	Eddie Calvo (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2
Idaho	C.L. "Butch" Otter (R)	1-15	1-19	2	_
Kansas	Jeff Colyer (R)	1-18 (c)	1-19	_	2
Maine	Paul LePage (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2
Michigan	Rick Snyder (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2
Minnesota	Mark Dayton (D)	1-15	1-19	1	_
Nevada	Brian Sandoval (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2
New Mexico	Susana Martinez (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2
Ohio	John Kasich (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2 (b)
Oklahoma	Mary Fallin (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2
South Dakota	Dennis Daugaard (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2
Tennessee	Bill Haslam (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2
Wyoming	Matthew Mead (R)	1-15	1-19	1	2

NOTES

- a) California Governor Jerry Brown previously served eight years as governor from 1975-1983. Gov. Brown was elected to full four-year terms in November 1974, 1978, 2010, and 2014.
- After two consecutive terms as governor, the candidate must wait four years before becoming eligible to run again.
- c) Kansas Lt. Gov. Jeff Colyer became governor on January 31, 2018, following Gov. Sam Brownback's appointment as U.S. ambassador at large for international religious freedom. He was eligible to seek a full term in 2018 but conceded in the primary election.

4 D SEATS (4 states) – 14 R SEATS (13 states, 1 territory)

For more information on governors and gubernatorial elections, visit www.nga.org/cms/elections.

Revised August 20, 2018