Henry Hubbard

Gov. Henry Hubbard

New Hampshire

June 2, 1842 - June 6, 1844

May 3, 1784

June 5, 1857


Dartmouth College

Birth State
New Hampshire

National Office(s) Served:
Representative, Senator

Married Sally Walker Dean; five children


HENRY HUBBARD, the twenty-sixth governor of New Hampshire, was born in Charlestown, New Hampshire on May 3, 1784. His early education was attained through home tutoring, and later at Dartmouth College, where he graduated in 1803. He studied law and then established his legal career in his hometown of Charlestown. Hubbard first entered politics in 1810, serving as town moderator, a position he held sixteen times. He served as a member of the New Hampshire House of Representatives from 1812 to 1815, 1819 to 1820 and 1823 to 1827; was speaker of the house from 1825 to 1827; and served as selectman in 1819, 1820 and 1828. From 1823 to 1828 he served as the state solicitor for Cheshire County, and from 1827 to 1829 was the Sullivan County probate judge. He also served as a member of the U.S. House of Representatives from 1829 to 1835, as well as serving as a member of the U. S. Senate from 1835 to 1841. Hubbard next secured the Democratic gubernatorial nomination, and was elected governor by a popular vote in 1842. He was reelected to a second term in 1843. During his tenure, the elimination of capital punishment was lobbied for; and tax reduction was advocated for women who owned property. After leaving the governorship, Hubbard continued to stay politically active. He served as U.S. sub-treasurer in Boston, a post he held from 1846 to 1849. Governor Henry Hubbard passed away on June 5, 1857, and was buried in the Forest Hill Cemetery in Charlestown, New Hampshire.


Biographical Directory of the U.S. Congress

New Hampshire Division of Historical Resources

Sobel, Robert, and John Raimo, eds. Biographical Directory of the Governors of the United States, 1789-1978, Vol. 3, Westport, Conn.; Meckler Books, 1978. 4 vols.