This site utilizes JavaScript to enhance the user interface and productivity for users. Ensure you have Java Script enabled in your browser to take full advantage. John Michiner Haines

Governor John Michiner Haines

- +

Office Dates:  Jan 06, 1913 - Jan 04, 1915

Born:  Jan 01, 1863

Passed:  Jun 04, 1917

Birth State:  Iowa

Party:  Republican

Family:  Married Mary Symons

School(s):  Penn College

JOHN MICHINER HAINES was born in Jasper County, Iowa, on January 1, 1863. After finishing three years at Penn College (a sectarian institution for the Quaker faith), Haines withdrew from school due to ill health. He moved to Richfield, Kansas and started a career in the real estate industry. Haines entered politics as a member of the Republican State Central Committee. He also served as Morton County's deputy clerk, and in 1889 was elected register of deeds. In 1890, he moved to Idaho and established a real estate business in Boise. Returning to public service, Haines served as Boise's mayor from 1907 to 1909. He won the 1912 Republican gubernatorial nomination and was sworn into the governor's office on January 6, 1913. During his tenure, he advocated a consolidated control system of educational establishments and a public utilities commission. Also, the state board of education was created, a workmen's compensation bill was vetoed, Power County was founded, and an appropriation of 1200 dollars was sanctioned for former-Governor Willey, who had become destitute. After losing his reelection bid, Haines retired from politics, and returned to his real estate business. Governor John M. Haines died on June 4, 1917, and was buried at the Morris Hill Cemetery in Boise.


Historical Sketch of Power County

Idaho State Historical Society

Idaho State Historical Society Gubernatorial Manuscript and Archive Collections:

  • Archive Collection of Governor John Haines, AR0002.0010.
  • John M. Haines papers, 1912-1915. Manuscript Collection. MS0110.

Sobel, Robert, and John Raimo, eds. Biographical Directory of the Governors of the United States, 1789-1978, Vol. 1, Westport, Conn.; Meckler Books, 1978. 4 vols.