Letter Requesting Extension of Title 32 Authority During Pandemic

May 28, 2020

The Honorable Donald J. Trump
President of the United States
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Trump:

On behalf of the nation’s governors, we write in support of the numerous requests to extend the use of Title 32 for our National Guard response to and recovery from the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

Given the nature of the COVID-19 crisis, the virus has affected each state and territory in a different way, and at different times. As states and territories move toward recovery and reopening, our National Guard will be critical in supporting operations such as testing, distribution of personal protective equipment, supply and food chain support, augmenting staff at nursing homes, and supporting warehouse operations.

Likewise, our National Guard are perfectly positioned to support the federally defined core state preparedness responsibilities outlined in your Guidelines for Opening Up America Again.

Finally, with natural disaster season on the horizon, we believe the consistency of Title 32 specifically for COVID-19 related missions will help to provide states and territories with flexibility for easier transitions to supporting local disaster-related crises.

We appreciate your consideration of this important issue and ask you to continue to extend the use of Title 32 as part of COVID-19 recovery and reopening efforts, as necessary.


Governor Larry Hogan, Maryland; Chair, National Governors Association

Governor Andrew Cuomo, New York; Vice Chair, National Governors Association

Governor Kay Ivey, Alabama

Governor Mike Dunleavy, Alaska

Governor Doug Ducey, Arizona

Governor Gavin Newsom, California

Governor Jared Polis, Colorado

Governor Ned Lamont, Connecticut

Governor John Carney, Delaware

Governor Lou Leon Guerrero, Guam

Governor David Ige, Hawai’i

Governor JB Pritzker, Illinois

Governor Eric Holcomb, Indiana

Governor Kim Reynolds, Iowa

Governor Laura Kelly, Kansas

Governor John Bel Edwards, Louisiana

Governor Janet Mills, Maine

Governor Charlie Baker, Massachusetts

Governor Gretchen Whitmer, Michigan

Governor Tim Walz, Minnesota

Governor Mike Parson, Missouri

Governor Steve Bullock, Montana

Governor Steve Sisolak, Nevada

Governor Phil Murphy, New Jersey

Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham, New Mexico

Governor Roy Cooper, North Carolina

Governor Doug Burgum, North Dakota

Governor Ralph Torres, Northern Mariana Islands

Governor Mike DeWine, Ohio

Governor Kate Brown, Oregon

Governor Tom Wolf, Pennsylvania

Governor Wanda Vázquez Garced, Puerto Rico

Governor Gina Raimondo, Rhode Island

Governor Henry McMaster, South Carolina

Governor Kristi Noem, South Dakota

Governor Bill Lee, Tennessee

Governor Gary Herbert, Utah

Governor Phil Scott, Vermont

Governor Ralph Northam, Virginia

Governor Jay Inslee, Washington

Governor Tony Evers, Wisconsin

Governor Mark Gordon, Wyoming

Cc: Secretary Mark Esper, Department of Defense
Administrator Pete Gaynor, Federal Emergency Management Agency