Executive Committee

About the Committee

The NGA chair, vice chair and other members of the nine-person Executive Committee, who are elected annually, supervise the association’s operations on behalf of the entire membership. NGA’s Executive Committee (EC) has general authority over all policy issues and primary jurisdiction over issues involving federalism, homeland security, the federal budget, and federal tax policy.

Legal Affairs Committee

The Legal Affairs Committee (LAC) advises the National Governors Association (NGA) Executive Committee on whether NGA should participate as amicus curiae in cases of broad interest to Governors and states before the U.S. Supreme Court, federal appellate courts, and state supreme courts.

2017–18 Committee Leadership

Governor Brian Sandoval, Nevada — Chair
Governor Steve Bullock, Montana — Vice Chair

Gov. Dannel Malloy, Connecticut
Gov. Kim Reynolds, Iowa
Gov. John Bel Edwards, Louisiana
Gov. Larry Hogan, Maryland
Gov. Rick Snyder, Michigan
Gov. Roy Cooper, North Carolina
Gov. Tom Wolf, Pennsylvania

Share via