NGA Announces 2016-2017 Committee Leadership

WASHINGTON—The National Governors Association (NGA) today announced its new leadership for 2016-2017.

On Saturday, Virginia Gov. Terry McAuliffe was named NGA chair and Nevada Gov. Brian Sandoval vice chair. Together they will lead the nine-member Executive Committee that guides the association’s priorities and activities. Other members include:

  • Connecticut Gov. Dannel Malloy;
  • Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad;
  • Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon;
  • Montana Gov. Steve Bullock
  • North Carolina Gov. Pat McCrory;
  • Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam; and
  • Utah Gov. Gary Herbert.

Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper is the new chair of the Economic Development and Commerce Committee, and Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan will serve as the committee’s vice chair. Other members include:

  • Delaware Gov. Jack Markell;
  • Illinois Gov. Bruce Rauner;
  • Kentucky Gov. Matt Bevin;
  • Mississippi Gov. Phil Bryant;
  • Nebraska Gov. Pete Ricketts;
  • North Carolina Gov. Pat McCrory;
  • Rhode Island Gov. Gina Raimondo; and
  • West Virginia Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin.

Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley will lead the Education and Workforce Committee, and Washington Gov. Jay Inslee will serve as vice chair. Other members include:

  • Arizona Gov. Doug Ducey;
  • Indiana Gov. Mike Pence;
  • Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton;
  • Montana Gov. Steve Bullock;
  • New Mexico Gov. Susana Martinez;
  • Pennsylvania Gov. Tom Wolf;
  • South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard; and
  • Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker.

Vermont Gov. Peter Shumlin will chair the Health and Human Services Committee; Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker will serve the committee as vice chair. Other members include:

  • Guam Gov. Eddie Calvo;
  • Kansas Gov. Sam Brownback;
  • Louisiana Gov. John Bel Edwards;
  • New Hampshire Gov. Maggie Hassan;
  • New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo; and
  • Northern Mariana Islands Gov. Ralph Deleon Guerrero Torres.

Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson will chair the Homeland Security and Public Safety Committee with Oregon Gov. Kate Brown serving as vice chair. Other members include:

  • Hawaii Gov. David Ige;
  • Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder;
  • Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon;
  • New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie;
  • Puerto Rico Gov. Alejandro Javier Garcia Padilla;
  • Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam;
  • Utah Gov. Gary Herbert; and
  • Virgin Islands Gov. Kenneth Mapp.

California Gov. Edmund G. Brown will chair the Natural Resources Committee, and Wyoming Gov. Matt Mead will serve as vice chair. Other members include:

  • Alaska Gov. Bill Walker;
  • American Samoa Gov. Lolo Matalasi Moliga;
  • Connecticut Gov. Dannel Malloy;
  • Iowa Gov. Terry Branstad;
  • North Dakota Gov. Jack Dalrymple; and
  • Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin.

As vice chair of NGA, Gov. Sandoval also serves as chair of the NGA Center for Best Practices Board. Also named to the board were Gov. McAuliffeDelaware Gov. Jack Markell and Alaska Gov. Bill Walker.

Gov. Snyder, Gov. SandovalGov. Wolf and Gov. McAuliffe will sit on the Finance Committee. Gov. MalloyGov. Dayton and Gov. Daugaard will sit on the Legal Affairs Committee.

NGA provides a bipartisan forum for governors to exchange views and share best practices; identifies priority issues and works with governors to establish bipartisan positions to influence key federal policies; and develops innovative solutions to state policy challenges and provides tailored technical assistance to governors.