National Governors Association Welcomes New Presidential Appointees to the Council of Governors

The National Governors Association today welcomed the President’s new appointees to the Council of Governors, a bipartisan body of 10 Governors that will work with the Administration on issues that affect national security, homeland defense, cybersecurity, disaster response and recovery, and the National Guard.

President Biden appointed Delaware Governor John Carney, Louisiana Governor John Bel Edwards, Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer, Oregon Governor Kate Brown, Utah Governor Spencer Cox, Vermont Governor Phil Scott and Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon.

Ohio Governor Mike DeWine was reappointed to the council and has been named co-chair along with Minnesota Governor Tim Walz. Tennessee Governor Bill Lee also remains on the council.

Established by Section 1822 of the National Defense Authorization Act of 2008 and implemented by Presidential Executive Order 13528, the Council of Governors consists of 10 Governors – five from each political party. The Council of Governors is a forum for the exchange of information and discussion of federal proposals and recommendations affecting the National Guard or military operations in support of state and domestic authorities as well as cybersecurity and disaster response.

Federal participants include the secretaries of defense and homeland security, presidential homeland security and counterterrorism advisors, the Commander of U.S. Northern Command, the Commandant of the Coast Guard and the Chief of the National Guard Bureau.