NGA Announces 2017-18 Committee Leadership

WASHINGTON—The National Governors Association (NGA) today announced its new committee leadership for 2017-2018.

Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson is the new chair of the Economic Development and Commerce Committee, and Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper will serve as the committee’s vice chair. Other members include:

  • Gov. John Carney, Delaware;
  • Gov. Kim Reynolds, Iowa;
  • Gov. Bruce Rauner, Illinois;
  • Gov. Larry Hogan, Maryland;
  • Gov. Chris Sununu, New Hampshire;
  • Gov. Roy Cooper, North Carolina;
  • Gov. Ricardo Rosselló, Puerto Rico;
  • Gov. Gina Raimondo, Rhode Island;
  • Gov. Scott Walker, Wisconsin; and
  • Gov. Phil Scott, Vermont.

Washington Gov. Jay Inslee will lead the Education and Workforce Committee, and South Dakota Gov. Dennis Daugaard will serve as vice chair. Other members include:

  • Gov. Eric Holcomb, Indiana;
  • Gov. Matt Bevin, Kentucky;
  • Gov. Pete Ricketts, Nebraska;
  • Gov. Mary Fallin, Oklahoma; and
  • Gov. Tom Wolf, Pennsylvania.

Massachusetts Gov. Charlie Baker will chair the Health and Human Services CommitteeOregon Gov. Kate Brown will serve the committee as vice chair. Other members include:

  • Gov. Eddie Calvo, Guam;
  • Gov. Sam Brownback, Kansas;
  • Gov. John Bel Edwards, Louisiana;
  • Gov. Andrew Cuomo, New York;
  • Gov. Ralph Torres, Northern Mariana Islands;
  • Gov. Bill Haslam, Tennessee;
  • Gov. Gary Herbert, Utah; and
  • Gov. Terry McAuliffe, Virginia.

Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton will chair the Homeland Security and Public Safety Committee with Missouri Gov. Eric Greitens serving as vice chair. Other members include:

  • Gov. Kay Ivey, Alabama;
  • Gov. Lolo Matalasi Moliga, America Samoa;
  • Gov. David Ige, Hawaii;
  • Gov. Rick Snyder, Michigan;
  • Gov. Phil Bryant, Mississippi;
  • Gov. Chris Christie, New Jersey; and
  • Gov. Kenneth Mapp, Virgin Islands.

Wyoming Gov. Matt Mead will chair the Natural Resources Committee, and California Gov. Edmund G. Brown will serve as vice chair. Other members include:

  • Gov. Bill Walker, Alaska;
  • Gov. Doug Ducey, Arizona;
  • Gov. Dannel Malloy, Connecticut;
  • Gov. Susana Martinez, New Mexico;
  • Gov. Doug Burgum, North Dakota; and
  • Gov. Jim Justice, West Virginia.

As vice chair of NGA, Montana Gov. Steve Bullock also serves as chair of the NGA Center for Best Practices Board. Also named to the board were Gov. Burgum and Gov. Wolf.

Gov. Bullock, Gov. Hickenlooper, Nevada Gov. Brian Sandoval and Gov. Snyder will sit on the Finance Committee. Gov. Daugaard, Gov. Haslam and Gov. Malloy will sit on the Legal Affairs Committee.

As previously announced, NGA Chair Gov. Sandoval and Vice Chair Gov. Bullock will lead the nine-member Executive Committee that guides the association’s priorities and activities. Other members include:

  • Gov. Dannel Malloy, Connecticut; 
  • Gov. Kim Reynolds, Iowa;
  • Gov. Larry Hogan, Maryland; 
  • Gov. Rick Snyder, Michigan;
  • Gov. Roy Cooper, North Carolina;
  • Gov. Tom Wolf, Pennsylvania; and
  • Gov. Terry McAuliffe, Virginia.

NGA provides a bipartisan forum for governors to exchange views and share best practices; identifies priority issues and works with governors to establish bipartisan positions to influence key federal policies; and develops innovative solutions to state policy challenges and provides tailored technical assistance to governors.