TSCA Reform

The Honorable Mitch McConnell
Majority Leader
U.S. Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Harry Reid
Minority Leader
U.S. Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Paul Ryan
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi
Minority Leader
U.S. House of Representatives
Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Majority Leader McConnell, Minority Leader Reid, Speaker Ryan, and Minority Leader Pelosi,

On behalf of the state executive and legislative branch elected leaders that our organizations represent, thank you for your leadership in Congress to develop a bipartisan compromise that makes much needed reforms to the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA).

Our organizations have offered input on TSCA reform over the last several years, stressing the need to strengthen TSCA while still preserving the ability of states to act when chemicals present serious health and safety concerns to our citizens. We reaffirm the recommendations found in previous correspondence from our respective organizations. As Congress begins the conference process, we request your continued thoughtful consideration to the perspectives of the states.

Over the past 30 years states have played, and continue to play, an important role in regulation where federal action has been delayed or absent. TSCA reforms should preserve states’ authority to develop and implement chemical safety standards when appropriate. States chemical evaluation procedures augment the efforts of the EPA under TSCA.

The ability of states to develop and impose standards pending final EPA rules on some or all of the substances addressed by TSCA should be maintained. The bipartisan compromises reached on this legislation must continue to safeguard the authority of the states to regulate and adopt standards necessary to protect public health and safety.

Again, we are extremely encouraged by the bipartisan commitment in Congress to complete TSCA reform and deliver a comprehensive bill to the President for signature. Our organizations look forward to Congress passing this important legislation as soon as possible.


Scott D. Pattison
Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
National Governors Association

William T. Pound
Executive Director
National Conference of State Legislatures

Alexandra Dapolito Dunn
Executive Director and General Counsel
Environmental Council of the States

Sharon Moffatt RN, BSN, MS
Interim Executive Director
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials