Governors Kick Off Bipartisan Working Group to Drive Solutions on School and Community Safety

The National Governors Association released the following statement on the first meeting of a bipartisan working group that will study and make recommendations designed to combat gun violence and provide families confidence in the safety of their communities, and in particular, their schools:

“Today, NGA Chairman Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson and NGA Vice Chair New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy convened the first meeting of the working group on School and Community Safety to build upon and work with the Administration and Congress after enactment of the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act, one month after the tragic shooting at Robb Elementary School in Uvalde, Texas.

“This bipartisan law will deliver critical resources to our states and territories. Governors stand ready to work alongside our federal partners, schools and local communities to ensure the Bipartisan Safer Communities Act is successful in reducing gun violence and improving mental health services.”

Governors Hutchinson and Murphy wrote to President Biden June 9 advising him on the establishment of the bipartisan working group.

The following Governors will participate in the working group on behalf of all 55 states and territories:

  • Governor Asa Hutchinson (AR)
  • Governor Phil Murphy (NJ)
  • Governor Spencer Cox (UT)
  • Governor Larry Hogan (MD)
  • Governor Kathy Hochul (NY)
  • Governor Ned Lamont (CT)
  • Governor Henry McMaster (SC)
  • Governor Gretchen Whitmer (MI)