Status of State COVID-19 Traveler Quarantine Orders/Guidance
The following tracker provides the status of state and territory COVID-19 traveler quarantine orders, guidance, and restrictions.
Resources By TopicCommunications Critical Infrastructure Economic Development And Employers Elections Funding Health Insurance Housing Human Services Legal Long Term Care Operational Coordination Pathway to Reopening Planning & Preparedness Postsecondary Education Public Safety Schools and Childcare Special Considerations For Vulnerable Populations Supply Chain And Health System Readiness Testing Workforce And Labor
Last Updated: 18 Nov 2020
The following tracker provides the status of state and territory COVID-19 traveler quarantine orders, guidance, and restrictions. The purpose of this tracker is to share information about the current status of orders/guidance and information related to types of restrictions, effective dates, applicability to visitors, potential penalties, and additional notes. The chart includes links to current orders/guidance.
Please note this list may not be exhaustive, information may be out of date, and not every type of order/guidance may be represented. Lapsed/rescinded orders/guidance are not included. Please see CDC and state-specific websites if you have questions before traveling to a state or territory. NGA staff will continue to track COVID-19 traveler quarantine orders/guidance and update this document.
|State||Summary||Dates: Enacted - Expiration||Applicable Visitors||States Impacted||Governance||Required?||Penalties||Additional Notes|
|Alabama||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Alabama.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Alaska||All non-residents must arrive with a qualifying negative test taken within 72 hours prior to departure or proof of a pending test result from a test taken within 72 hours prior to departure. Travelers who do not complete a test prior to departure may purchase one for $250 and must quarantine upon arrival. Those staying for more than 7 days are required to get a second test.|
Travelers must submit a travel declaration and self isolation plan along with uploading their testing data to the state's travel portal.
|08/06/2020 - ongoing||Residents returning to Alaska are not required to be tested and have other options upon returning home. These include self-quarantining or following a work plan submitted by an employer to.||N/A||Health Mandate 010||Yes.||The failure to follow this order is punishable by a fine of up to $25,000, or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both pursuant to Alaska Statute 12.55.035 and Alaska Statute 12.55.135||N/A|
|Arizona||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Arizona.|
The Department of Health's webpage directs users to the office of tourism, which lays out guidelines on topics like masks, tourist attraction closures, and city ordinances.
|Arkansas||There are no restrictions on travelers coming to Arkansas.|
The Department of Health's webpage directs users to CDC guidance for travel.
|California||Travelers coming into California from outside the state are asked to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.||11/13/2020 - ongoing||Both residents and visitors. Those on "essential travel" are exempt. Per the Dept of Health advisory, essential travel includes, "work and study, critical infrastructure support, economic services and supply chains, health, immediate medical care, and safety and security."||N/A||Dept of Public Health Travel Advisory||Recommended.||N/A||Guidance was rolled out in concert with OR and WA.|
|Colorado||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Colorado.|
The state's COVID-19 webpage directs users to CDC travel guidance and the state's tourism webpage for the latest information on tourist attraction restrictions.
|Connecticut||Those coming from a state/country with a positive case rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents, or higher than a 10% test positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average, or from a country for which the CDC has issued a Level 3 Travel Health Notice, are directed to self-quarantine for a 14-day period and submit a travel form with their itinerary.|
Travelers do not have to quarantine if they can provide proof of a negative test within the last 72 hours.
|10/27/2020 - ongoing ||The EO applies to anyone traveling into CT who has spent at least 24 hours in a state or country that meets the positivity/case criteria. Essential workers, those who will be in CT for less than 24 hours, and those coming from NY, NJ, and RI are exempt.||AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, DE, FL, GA, Guam, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NM, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, Puerto Rico, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY||Executive Order 9I||Yes.||Travelers will be subject to a civil penalty of five hundred dollars for each provision in the EO that they violate.||The EO gives the Commissioner of Health authority to amend the restrictions criteria and expand the type of tests that can be submitted as a substitute for required quarantine.
Bradley Int'l Airport (Hartford area) offers testing on-site for travelers from the listed states.
|Delaware||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Delaware. |
Its travel advisory page lists out the safety protocols that must be taken up by visitors such as social distancing, masks, etc. The page also directs users to links to pages with information on testing locations.
|Florida||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Florida. |
The state's webpage lists information and provides links for those looking for rules at certain tourist attractions and in certain municipalities.
|Georgia||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Georgia.|
The state's COVID-19 travel page advises that residents do not travel abroad and lists issues to consider before traveling.
|Hawaii||Travelers must quarantine for 14 days upon arriving to Hawaii. Travelers are also allowed to submit a negative test from an approved entity and from the last 72 hours as a substitute for the 14 day quarantine.|
The state's "Safe Travels" program went into effect on Sep 1. Under Safe Travels, those coming into the state are issued a unique QR code that is scanned upon arrival, have their temperature checked in the airport, and are required to create a travel profile and submit information about their health and stay to the Department of Health before arriving.
|10/13/2020 - 11/30/2020||All travelers regardless of residency. Those coming to the state who have been at sea for at least 14 days do not have to quarantine.|
Essential employees must submit an exemption request.
|N/A||COVID-19 Emergency Proclamation (14th version)||Yes.||Individuals can report someone who has violated the policy to the state. Violators are guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction, the|
person shall be fined not more than $5,000, or imprisoned not more than one
year, or both.
|Information and guidance can also be found on the webpages of the Tourism Authority and Dept of Health, and Dept of Transportation
|Idaho||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Idaho. However, those traveling into Ada County (includes Boise) are encouraged to quarantine for 14 days if they are coming from a state or country with "substantial spread or case rates higher than Idaho."||08/13/2020 - ongoing||N/A||N/A||The "encouragement" to self quarantine is a component of phase 3 of the gov's reopening plan. Ada County remains in phase 3, while the rest of ID is in phase 4 of reopening.||Encouraged.||N/A||Ada County Health Order and Recommendations|
|Illinois||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Illinois. The Dept of Health's COVID-19 travel webpage maps out which states have case rates of 15 per 100,000 or greater to identify the riskiest destinations. |
However, Chicago's Health Commissioner issued a travel order on July 2 that directs travelers from states with a case rate greater than 15 new cases per 100,000 resident population, per day, over a 7- day rolling average to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.
|N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||Chicago's Health Commissioner updated the city's travel order on Nov 17, which now categorizes states into three levels of risk. Travelers from states with a daily case rate higher than 85 per 100K are required to quarantine for 14 days; those coming from states with 15-85 daily cases per 100K must either have a negative test result from the previous 72 hours or quarantine for 14 days; those coming from a state with less than 15 cases per 100K may travel to Chicago with no restrictions.|
|Indiana||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Indiana.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Iowa||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Iowa. |
Iowa's COVID-19 homepage directs users to the state's tourism website that includes a list of tourist attractions that have limited access.
|Kansas||States or countries with a case rate per 100K that is 3x the rate of Kansas' are added to the quarantine list. |
Travelers are required to quarantine for 14 days if they are coming to Kansas from an out-of-state gathering of more than 500 people where they did not socially distance and wear a mask; were in South Dakota, Belgium, or Czechia between Nov 4-17; or were in North Dakota or Andorra between Oct 21- Nov 17.
|11/17/2020 - "will be updated|
in ~2 weeks"
|Both residents and non-residents.||ND, SD||Health Mandate issued by the Department of Health and the Environment||Yes.||N/A||N/A|
|Kentucky||Travelers are recommended to endure a 14 day quarantine if they came to Kentucky from outside the country or from a state or country with a positivity rate of higher than 15%.|
The state is using the Johns Hopkins University of Medicine Coronavirus Resource Center for its data source.
|07/20/2020 - ongoing||Kentucky residents.||WY, SD, IA, KS, ID, PA, AL, MT, UT, MS, MO, WI, AZ, OK, MN||Department of Public Health Travel Advisory||Recommended.||N/A||N/A|
|Louisiana||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Louisiana.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Maine||Travelers coming into Maine must either quarantine for 14 days or submit that they've gotten a negative test result within the last 72 hours. Travelers whose results have not come in yet must quarantine upon arrival until a negative test is confirmed. Travelers may also get tested upon arrival and quarantine until a negative result is confirmed. ||06/09/2020 - ongoing||Both residents and non-residents. Minors do not need to be tested if they're accompanied by an adult who has tested negative.|
Non-residents seeking lodging must submit a certificate of compliance indicating that they've gotten a negative test or are quarantining. Essential workers are exempt.
|All states except for residents of NH and VT.||Executive Order 57||Yes.||Those who fail to comply may be charged with a Class E crime that includes punishment of up to 6 months in jail, a $1,000 fine, and payment of civil damages to Maine for its costs associated with testing, investigating, contact tracing, and otherwise determining the extent of COVID-19 transmission.||Rationale for exempted states: "when adjusted for population, the prevalence of active cases of COVID-19 in these states is similar or better to Maine's, as compared to other states."
|Maryland||All travelers coming to Maryland from out-of-state are asked to get tested 72 hours prior to arrival or upon arrival in Maryland. Those who test positive are asked to cancel travel plans/quarantine if they've already arrived in Maryland.|
Returning residents coming from states with a positivity rate above 10% or case rate higher than 20 per 100K are asked to get tested and quarantine until a negative result is confirmed. Marylanders coming from Virginia, DC, Pennsylvania, Delaware, and West Virginia are exempt from these guidelines.
|11/10/2020 - ongoing||All travelers, except for residents returning from Virginia, DC, Delaware, West Virginia, and Pennsylvania.||N/A||Department of Health Advisory||Recommended.||N/A||N/A|
|Massachusetts||Travelers coming into Massachusetts must complete a travel form and either quarantine for 14 days or submit a negative test from within the last 72 hours. Travelers can get tested upon arrival but must also quarantine upon arrival. Those coming from a "low risk state" are exempt from the quarantine/test requirement as well as the need to submit a travel form. Anyone arriving from an international destination must fill out the Massachusetts Travel Form and must quarantine for 14 days or meet the 72-hour testing rule.|
States are deemed low risk if their average daily cases per 100K is below 10 and their positive test rate is below 5% - both measured as a 7-day rolling average. States are moved off of the lower-risk list based on the same metrics but over the course of two weeks.
|08/01/2020 - ongoing||All travelers over the age of 18 as well as unaccompanied minors. Individuals with a regular commute to a fixed location, those seeking medical treatment, military personnel traveling on orders, and critical infrastructure workers are exempt.||All except HI, NH, VT, ME||Travel Order 45||Yes.||Failure to comply may result in a $500 fine per day.||All international travelers must complete the form and fulfill the 14 day quarantine or negative rest requirement.|
|Michigan||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Michigan. ||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Minnesota||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Minnesota. |
The state's COVID-19 webpage outlines the requirements for traveling through the airport (masks social distancing, etc.), and directs users to the Dept of Health webpage that lists issues for residents to consider when traveling.
|Mississippi||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Mississippi.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Missouri||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Missouri. The state's COVID-19 webpage encourages users to be aware of local ordinances that might impact travel plans.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Montana||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Montana. |
The state's COVID-19 travel webpage recommends that users review the CDC and WHO guidelines and indicates that some localities will require masks and other precautionary measures.
|Nebraska||Those coming into Nebraska after international travel are encouraged to quarantine if they experience symptoms. ||06/01/2020 - ongoing||The recommendations exclude health care workers and commuters.||N/A||Dept of Health and Human Services Traveler Recommendations||Recommended.||N/A||N/A|
|Nevada||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Nevada. The state's COVID-19 homepage discourages those who are showing symptoms or have tested positive from traveling to the state. ||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|New Hampshire||Both residents and non-residents must quarantine for 14 days upon arriving in New Hampshire. This does not apply to travelers coming from the other 5 New England states. Travelers may get tested on day 7 of quarantine and end quarantine early if they test negative and are asymptomatic. Travelers may also quarantine for the 14 days prior to arrival in NH as long as they do not use public transportation. Travelers may also quarantine for 7 days prior to arrival and be tested immediately upon arrival in NH.||11/14/2020 - 01/15/2021||Essential travel is exempt and includes travel for work, school, personal safety, medical care, care of others, parental shared custody, medication, meals, and school tours.||All except ME, VT, |
MA, CT, RI,
|Guidance from the Dept of Health and Human Services||Yes.||N/A||N/A|
|New Jersey||Travelers coming into New Jersey from a state that has an average daily number of new cases higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a seven-day period or has a 10% or higher positivity rate over a seven-day period are asked to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.||10/20/2020 - ongoing||Residents and non-residents.|
Those who passed through NJ or a restricted state in 24 hours or less, those on accepted business travel, and essential workers are exempt.
|AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, FL, GA, Guam, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NM, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PR, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY||State travel advisory||Recommended.||N/A||The state has shared a travel survey that it recommends travelers fill out voluntarily to declare their itinerary.|
|New Mexico||Travelers coming into New Mexico from states deemed by the Dept of Health to be "high risk" must quarantine for 14 days upon arrival or produce a negative test within 72 hours of arrival or from the 72 hours prior to arrival. |
States are deemed to be "high risk" if the positive test rate is higher than 80 per 100,000 residents or if the positivity rate is greater than or equal to 5% over a seven day rolling average.
Any state with a positivity rate less than 5% and a case rate equal to or less than 80 per 1 million residents are deemed "low-risk." Those coming into New Mexico from a low-risk state are still advised to self-quarantine.
|9/04/2020 - ongoing |
(until public health emergency declared in separate EO is lifted)
|Exemptions: Airline employees, public safety workers, military personnel and their dependents, federal employees and contractors, first-responders, health care workers, residents who got medical care outside of NM, NM residents who left the state for less than 24 hours for family reasons, and those employed by an "essential business" as defined in separate public health order.||All except HI, ME, VT||Executive Order 2020-063||Yes.||Non-compliant individuals are subject to involuntary quarantine by the New Mexico Department of Health under the Public Health Emergency Response Act.||List of states is updated once a week on Wednesdays and seemingly posted here: https://cv.nmhealth.org/travel-recommendations/|
|New York||Travelers entering New York from a non-bordering state must either quarantine for 14 days or be tested 72 hours prior to arrival in NY; quarantine for 3 days upon arrival; and obtain a second negative test on their fourth day in NY. Travelers may exit quarantine after their second negative result.||11/03/2020 - ongoing||Those who spend less than 24 hours in a non-bordering state, essential workers, and first responders are exempt. |
Those who spend less than 24 hours in NY and essential workers as defined in Dept of Health guidance from March are exempt.
|All states except NJ, CT, PA, MA, and VT.||Department of Health Guidance||Yes.||Any violation may be enforced pursuant to article 21 of the public health law, and non-compliance may additionally be deemed a violation pursuant to section 12 of the public health law subject to a civil penalty of up to $10,000 or 15 days in prison. |
Travelers who leave the airport without completing the form will be subject to a $2,000 fine and may be brought to a hearing and ordered to complete mandatory quarantine.
|The Commissioner of Health may exempt travelers from the quarantine requirement on a case-by-case basis.|
|North Carolina||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into North Carolina.|
The state's COVID-19 travel webpage instructs travelers to wear a mask in public and practice social distancing.
|North Dakota||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into North Dakota. |
The state's COVID-19 travel webpage provides links to CDC guidance for residents to reference as they make travel plans.
|Ohio||Travelers coming into Ohio from states with a positive testing rate of 15% or higher (7 day rolling basis) are advised to self-quarantine for 14 days.||09/23/2020 - ongoing|
(list updated weekly)
|Residents and non-residents.||SD, IA, KS, ID, WY, AL, MT||Dept of Health Travel Advisory||Recommended.||N/A||N/A|
|Oklahoma||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Oklahoma.|
The state's COVID-19 travel webpage recommends that travelers coming into OK from high-risk areas wear a mask in public and do not participate in larger group gatherings.
|Oregon||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Oregon.|
The state's COVID-19 travel webpage refers users to the reopening status of different counties across Oregon.
|Pennsylvania||Travelers coming into Pennsylvania from states with "a high number of cases" are encouraged to quarantine upon arrival.|
The state's COVID-19 travel webpage also refers users to county-level restrictions, some of which are stricter than the statewide advisory.
|9/25/2020 - ongoing||Residents and non-residents.||AL, AK, AR, CO, FL, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NM, NC, ND, OK, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, WI, WY||Department of Health Advisory||Recommended.||N/A||N/A|
|Rhode Island||Travelers coming into Rhode Island from a state with a COVID-19 positivity rate higher than 5% must quarantine for 14 days or submit a negative test from the 72 hours prior to arrival. Returning residents can end quarantine if they receive a negative test upon arrival.|
Non-residents are required to submit a certificate of compliance and out-of-state screening form and will have to submit the forms upon check-in at their lodging.
|9/21/2020 - ongoing||Residents and non-residents. ||AL, AK, AZ, AR, CO, FL, GA, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NM, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, PR, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WA, WI, WY||Dept of Health Guidance||Yes.||N/A||Dept of Health is using Johns Hopkins data for case rates.|
|South Carolina||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into South Carolina. The state's COVID-19 travel webpage encourages recent travelers to stay home as much as possible, to wear a mask, and to monitor symptoms.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|South Dakota||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into South Dakota. The state's COVID-19 travel webpage refers users to other webpages that lay out restrictions on certain tribal grounds.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Tennessee||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Tennessee. The state's COVID-19 travel webpage encourages visitors to wear a mask and practice social distancing.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Texas||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Texas. ||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Utah||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Utah. The state's COVID-19 travel webpage provides links to tourist attractions that have restricted access.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Vermont||Vermont has a set of travel restrictions for residents, one for non-residents, and a select list of nearby states and counties with different levels of restrictions depending on case count. Restrictions are looser on those traveling in a personal vehicle and for those coming from a county with less than 400 active cases per million. States with county-level restrictions include NY, PA, OH, NJ, DE, MD, D.C., VA, and WV. |
Non-residents traveling in a personal vehicle from a low-risk county may travel to VT without a quarantine requirement upon arrival. Non-residents traveling to VT from a high-risk county or from outside the Northeast may complete either a 14-day quarantine or a 7-day quarantine followed by a negative test in their home state and enter Vermont without further quarantine restrictions.
Residents in a personal vehicle may return from a low-risk county without a required quarantine. If residents travel outside the northeast or to a high-risk county, they must quarantine for 14 days upon return to VT.
|9/22/2020 - ongoing||Residents and non-residents.|
Those who are undergoing "essential travel" - which includes travel for personal safety, medical care, care of others, parental shared custody, for food, beverage or medicine, to attend preK-12 school if commuting daily, or to perform work for businesses that are currently allowed to operate - are exempt.
|N/A||Addendum 17 to Executive Order 01-20||Yes.||N/A||All out of state travelers using lodging, camping and short-term rental properties in Vermont must sign and complete a Certificate of Compliance or affirm a compliance statement at the time of reservation and check-in to attest that they meet the quarantine requirement, have traveled from a county with similar active COVID-19 caseload per the Vermont Agency of Commerce and Community Development, or are an essential/authorized worker.|
|Virginia||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Virginia. The state's COVID-19 travel webpage encourages users to ensure that their destination does not have restricted access.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Washington||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Washington state. The state's COVID-19 travel webpage refers users to CDC guidance.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|West Virginia||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into West Virginia. The state's COVI-19 travel page refers users to statewide guidance on social distancing, masks, etc.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Wisconsin||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Wisconsin. The state's COVID-19 travel page lists issues for individuals to consider while traveling and provides recommendations for a safe trip.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|Wyoming||There are no restrictions on travelers coming into Wyoming. The state's COVID-19 travel page refers users to CDC travel guidance.||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A||N/A|
|American Samoa||All travelers must submit a negative test within 72 hours before arrival, must disclose if they've tested positive in the past, and are also "subject to" a 14 day quarantine upon arrival.||11/01/2020 - 11/30/2020||COVID-19 related workers are exempt but must develop a plan with the Dept of Health to ensure they can safely carry out their duties.||N/A||Tenth Continued Public Health Emergency Declaration||Yes.||N/A||N/A|
|Guam||Travelers coming Guam are to carry out a 14-day quarantine at a Government of Guam quarantine facility. Travelers who do not comply will be issued a Directive for Temporary Quarantine and notified of their right to legal representation. |
All travelers are required to complete a health declaration form.
|08/21/2020 - ongoing||Residents and non-residents. |
Restrictions are looser for those arriving from a country with 0 cases, essential healthcare workers, critical service workers, unaccompanied minors, airline crew and staff, vessel crew members, medical referrals, emergency/hardship passengers, and active duty military/their dependents.
|N/A||Department of Public Health and Social Services Memo||Yes.||The knowing and intentional failure to follow the travel order constitutes a misdemeanor punishable by up to a $1,000 or one year in prison.||N/A|
|Northern Mariana Islands||Non-residents must be tested a minimum of 3 days to a max of 6 days prior to arrival and don't have to quarantine if they test negative. Non-residents who arrive without having been tested will be subject to mandatory 5-day quarantine at their own cost of $400 per night (including meals). On the 5th day, the individual will be required to process for a test and pay a fee up to $300 for laboratory testing. |
Returning residents can self-quarantine and do not have to test negative before arrival. Residents are required to submit themselves to a test 5 days after arrival.
|06/18/2020 - ongoing||Essential workers are exempt and are defined as those who are listed on the Essential Critical Infrastructure Workers Advisory List at the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, Cybersecurity, and Infrastructure Security Agency.||N/A||Emergency Directive 8||Yes.||Residents who do not show up for their test 5 days after arrival will be fined $500 and brought to a designated quarantine site to await test results.||N/A|
|Puerto Rico||Travelers coming into Puerto Rico must fill out a travel declaration form and have a negative test within 72 hours prior to arrival. Those whose results have not come in yet upon arrival must quarantine for 14 days or until they can submit their negative result to the Dept of Health. Travelers can be tested when they arrive but must quarantine until they have a negative result.|
Travelers who are asymptomatic upon arrival, tested negatively, and submitted their travel form may proceed with their trip as planned.
|07/03/2020 - ongoing||Non-residents.||N/A||Executive Order 2020-052||Yes.||N/A||Those showing symptoms at the airport will be given a rapid test by the PR National Guard. Even if they test negative at the airport, they must quarantine until they receive a negative result from a molecular test.|
|Virgin Islands||Travelers coming to the Virgin Islands must submit a negative test result from 5 or fewer days prior to arrival or quarantine for 14 days upon arrival. Testing will be available for those who weren't tested before arrival, and travelers must quarantine until a negative result is submitted.||09/08/2020 - ongoing||Residents and non-resident.||N/A||16 Supplemental Executive Proclamation||Yes.||N/A||N/A|
Webpage Notification and Waiver of Liability
This page includes memoranda, resources, trackers, and other materials developed by the National Governors Association (NGA) to assist governors and state governments with COVID-19 response efforts. These materials are intended to provide information that is currently in the public domain and is not intended to be used as a source for legal or professional advice. NGA and its governing bodies, officers, and employees assume no responsibility for information contained on this webpage and disclaim all civil or criminal liability in respect of such information. NGA makes no endorsements or recommendations of information provided, and visitors to this website should always seek the advice of an appropriately qualified professional pertaining to specific material references. Information contained in such materials is not exhaustive and may be changed or updated at any time. Specific disclaimers may apply in addition to certain content or parts of this webpage.