NGA Announces New Committee Leadership for 2018-2019

WASHINGTON—The National Governors Association (NGA) announced its new committee leadership for 2018-2019.

New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy is the new chair of the Economic Development and Commerce Committee and Arizona Governor Doug Ducey will serve as the committee’s vice chair. Other members include:

  • John Hickenlooper, Colorado
  • Eddie Calvo, Guam;
  • Bruce Rauner, Illinois;
  • Roy Cooper, North Carolina;
  • Phil Bryant, Mississippi;
  • Roy Cooper, North Carolina;
  • Ricardo Rosselló, Puerto Rico;
  • Gina Raimondo, Rhode Island;
  • Mike Parson, Missouri;and
  • Brian Sandoval, Nevada.

Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson will lead the Education and Workforce Committee, and Washington Governor Jay Inslee will serve as vice chair. Other members include:

  • Eric Holcomb, Indiana;
  • Kay Ivey, Alabama
  • Matt Bevin, Kentucky;
  • Pete Ricketts, Nebraska;
  • Mary Fallin, Oklahoma;
  • Dennis Daugaard, South Dakota;
  • Phil Scott, Vermont,
  • John Carney; and
  • Tom Wolf, Pennsylvania.

Oregon Governor Kate Brown will chair the Health and Human Services CommitteeMassachusetts Governor Charlie Baker will serve the committee as vice chair. Other members include:

  • John Bel Edwards, Louisiana;
  • Andrew Cuomo, New York;
  • Ralph Northam, Virginia;
  • Jeff Colver, Kansas;
  • Ralph Deleon Guerro Torres, Northern Marina Islands;
  • John Kasich, Ohio;
  • Bill Haslam, Tennessee;and
  • Scott Walker, Wisconsin.

Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant will chair the Homeland Security and Public Safety Committee with Minnesota Governor Mark Dayton serving as vice chair. Other members include:

  • Doug Ducey, Arizona;
  • Lolo Matalasi Moliga, America Samoa;
  • David Ige, Hawaii;
  • Rick Snyder, Michigan;
  • Susana Martinez, New Mexico;
  • Bill Walker, Alaska;and
  • Henry McMaster, South Carolina.

California Governor Edmund G. Brown will chair the Natural Resources Committee and Wyoming Governor Matt Mead will serve as vice chair. Other members include:

  • Butch Otter, Idaho;
  • Chris Sununu, New Hampshire;
  • Doug Burgum, North Dakota;
  • Gary Herbert, Utah;
  • Jim Justice, West Virginia;and
  • Dan Malloy, Connecticut.

As vice chair of NGA, Maryland Governor Larry Hogan also serves as chair of the NGA Center for Best Practices Board. Also named to the board were Gov. Burgum, Gov. Wolf and Montana Governor Steve Bullock.

Gov. Hogan, Gov. Snyder and Montana Governor Steve Bullock will sit on the Finance Committee. Gov. Daugaard, Gov. Murphy and Gov. Malloy will sit on the Legal Affairs Committee.

As previously announced, NGA Chair Gov. Bullock and Vice Chair Gov. Hogan will lead the nine-member Executive Committee that guides the association’s priorities and activities. Other members include:

  • Dan Malloy, Connecticut; 
  • Kim Reynolds, Iowa;
  • Scott Walker, Wisconsin; 
  • Rick Snyder, Michigan;
  • Roy Cooper, North Carolina;
  • Tom Wolf, Pennsylvania;and
  • Brian Sandoval, Nevada.

About the National Governors Association

NGA provides a bipartisan forum for governors to exchange views and share best practices; identifies priority issues and works with governors to establish bipartisan positions to influence key federal policies; and develops innovative solutions to state policy challenges and provides tailored technical assistance to governors.